Self-Care 

For me, writing is a form of self-care. I write what I am feeling. I write what I know to be true or false. I write when I’m frustrated or when I’m angry. I write when I just need to get things off my chest. 

Writing provides peace and solace that I cannot get from other things in life. Currently, I’m restless with where I see my life going and how I want things to be. Do you ever just want to rewrite the beginning of your life because you are filled with so much understanding now? Lately, that’s how I feel. 

Sometimes, I want to share my opinions about certain things, but even though our world encourages individuality, no one really wants to hear or read exactly what I feel. So, I write in my journals. Writing calms me down. Writing brings me to a grounded place. 

I do view writing as a self-care activity. When I taught English, I encouraged my students to write everyday. When a friend of mine was dealing with the stress of her job, and she knew that if she sought the assistance of a therapist, she could lose her job, I bought her a journal to assist her in processing the day to day activities that caused her grief. 

I am trying to show my children how important it is to keep a journal. I started giving them writing prompts to encourage their thoughts, but since I now have a very long commute to and from work, I find it hard to encourage them as much. 

Even the purchase of a new journal,  such as a Leuchtturm1917 or Moleskin, gives me so much joy. When I purchase ink for my Lamy Safari pen, I feel so happy. I value what I use to write my thoughts and ideas down. Having a journal and pen that encourages me and promotes happiness is a part of witting being a form of self-care. 

Everywhere I go, I have something to write with and in. I never know when I need to feel inspired or just need to let it all out. I have started a routine of leaving early for work, so that I can write in my car for at least seven minutes. That might not seem like a long time, but when I set my timer to write, I am so present in that moment. During those seven minutes, I am able to release any tnsuon before I embark on my work. 

What does writing do for you? How is writing a form of self-care? 

One thought on “Self-Care 

  1. Writing for me helps me get all the thoughts down that I wouldn’t want to say out loud. For example, when I’m so mad at someone, instead of giving them a piece of my mind I write it. It really helps me. I don’t like hurting peoples feelings so I take it to my journal. I also write when I’m happy, anxious or sad. I feel it is a great self care.

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

