Delicacy

 

Writers are frail people, who become entangled in their own perceptions of themselves. Do you agree?

I think of myself as a writer.  When it comes to my writings, especially my blogs and my books, I am a delicate rose, whose petals may fall off if you stare too long.  Listening to a podcast, which included the interviews of two writers, I could not help but think of the frail nature of writers.  We can write all our lives, but we do not acknowledge ourselves as a writer until we have a career, which includes the word writer.

Am I a writer if I do not get paid for it? What constitutes the assignment of the title writer?  If I have a blog, am I a writer? Do I have to wait until other people acknowledge me as a writer?

Writers are sensitive.  I am guilty of not wanting to share a piece with anyone, especially after someone has disagreed with my writing or my thoughts.  Do I need to be sensitive about my work?

Are you a frail writer?  If you consider  yourself a writer, why? If you write but do not consider yourself a writer, why?

 

Frail

 

9 thoughts on “Delicacy

  1. Interesting question. I’ve thought about this before, but I’m not a frail writer. I couldn’t care less if someone disagrees with me as long as my points are valid.

    My blog is all about brutal honesty so it’s bound to cause some disagreement. For example, most recently I remember stating that I don’t care for certain forms of charity, namely giving food to the homeless. While I’ll gladly listen to others views, my thoughts on some matters are unwavering.

    As for do I consider myself a writer? Not until I started blogging. Academic writing doesn’t do it for me. I don’t enjoy it.

    However, my blog is personal and I love writing it. Once I started enjoying the process, I was able to call myself a writer.

    Honestly, it does help that people have nice things to say about the blog as well as me, but I believe that’s a byproduct of my belief in my writing and the things I share!

    Liked by 2 people

    1. Having published peer-reviewed articles, I think I felt like a writer only when my writing was more personal, i.e. blogs and my poetry book. I’m curious about your reasoning for not giving food to homeless.

      Liked by 2 people

      1. Keep in mind that I’m still a child. This could be totally off base, but I stand by it. In essence it’s a completely useless act.

        Giving them food might make you feel good about yourself. It will keep them from starving a little while longer. But I don’t consider it a solution. There’s an old adage that goes like this (credited to Confucius I believe):

        “Give a man a fish, and you’ll feed him for a day. Teach a mam to fish, and you’ve fed him for a lifetime.”

        There’s more to this quote than meets the eye. I’ll blog about it one day. But for the above situation, you’ve simply given the man a fish. He doesn’t know how to get more. He doesn’t even know when he’ll get more, or if you’ll be back to give him another. IMO, it’s just prolonging his suffering. I want to solve this problem by teaching men to fish. I don’t care for half measures.

        I’m not against those that want to help but I won’t be joining them until I have an actual solution. I’d rather help one person change his life than help 10 scrape by.

        Liked by 2 people

  2. I liked this post, I think a frail writer would be someone unwilling to bend or change, someone unwilling to learn and grow. Someone incapable of being strong enough to see wisdom in critique, whether it’s taken or not. A writer that ignores the possibilities is frail. IMO.

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

